She has grit and tenacity. She bravely faced major illness as a teen and is now taking on her education with the same fervor.

What is your occupation?
I am a college student, and as my parents put it... "That is your full-time job."

What is your college major?
My major is Anthropology. Most people ask what that is, so a brief definition that I always give is: Anthropology is the study of culture: past, present, and future. To me, the study of anthropology is the coolest thing to study, because it changes daily, you get to travel the world and meet new people, plus I love history and you learn A LOT of history!

Why eCore?
eCore became a really good path for me, because it allowed me to get extra classes and hours. I love to learn, and I am a veracious reader, so I feel like I will do well in this short session.

Who is the biggest inspiration for your education?
My biggest inspiration for education would actually be three people: My dad, my oldest brother Jonathan (I have three), and my Big Sis in my sorority, Amy. Each one of these people has influenced my ways of thought pertaining to education. Each one brings something new to the table, and all of their help has definitely helped me become the student I am today. My dad is very focused on facts and what he has seen, done, or learned. My brother does slightly the same, but he puts in a little more emotion and he taught me some fantastic ways to study and boost my grades.  Both of them have a love for learning that definitely was passed to me because of them.  As for my Big Sis Amy, she is one of the best people I know. She is about to graduate and become an elementary teacher, but although we have different career paths, she always helps me get to new levels on my road to success. She embodies the perfect teacher spirit, which I just love.  When we study together and I don't understand something, she helps me break it down into pieces that I understand, and then we put the "puzzle" back together.  They have all made learning fun and something that I love to do!

What is something cool you have learned this semester in eCore?
Well, this is actually my first session with eCore, so I haven't had a lot of time with it yet... But already I can sense that I will gain a lot of knowledge from this program.

What three words would you use to describe one of your online instructors?
Now that I have had a couple days to meet my teachers, I can say that each is unique, encouraging, and helpful! I really feel as if they truly care about my educational experience.

Where is your favorite place to visit in the USA?
I have had the opportunity to travel to California, New York, Philly, Boston, and Washington D.C., but my favorite place in the world would have to be Disney World in Orlando, Florida! My family of six (I am 1 of 4 kids...and the only girl) would take trips down there, and it was the only time we could all be together and enjoy being a family.  We went to all the parks in Orlando, but Disney holds the most memories!

What kind of mood are you in right now, and why?
I am in a great mood. I am reading and studying right now for my world history class, which I love. I find that it is a lot easier to study about something that fascinates you.

What is your favorite study spot?
I love to study outside in the warm sun, but when it gets cold I have a little corner that I sit in and can sit there for hours.

What is something your online classmates don't know about you?
I am secretly obsessed with an old Sci-fi show called Stargate SG-1. I can tell you all the names of the episodes, lines from each, and the most obscure characters names from all 10 seasons plus the movies they made.

Is there anything else you would like to share about yourself?
I am only 20 years old, and to many that is still a pretty young age, but I have had to grow up a lot faster than other people. When I was 14, I was in and out of the hospital for a year and a half having over 9 surgeries. I do not have a large intestine.  I know that this usually gets me the "WHOA, are you serious?” face. This event in my life changed me, not just physically. Yes, I do battle problems still on a daily basis. Yes, I almost died, but if I hadn't had the support system and encouragement from the people around me during this hard time, I would not be the person I am today. My mom and I began to say a phrase to each other, especially when I was not having a good day or was in a lot of pain, and that phrase is Philippians 4:13 - "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me." Although during my hard times I really had trouble believing in the big guy upstairs, the simplicity of my mom looking at me, holding my hand, and saying 4:13 was enough to keep me pushing and fighting for my life. Without her or the rest of my family and friends, I would not be here today. These two simple things, family and friends, changed my life forever and kept me alive.

1. What is your occupation? I work at a local power company, EPB, in Chattanooga, TN in the Field Services division.  I mainly focus on the fiber optic services like TV, Internet and phone service.  I troubleshoot problems that our fiber optics customers are having within their fiber network like TV signal issues, internet and phone issues. 

2. What is your college major?
My college major is Bachelor of Science in Organizational Leadership.  I was originally going for a Bachelor of Business Administration at Dalton State College before the eMajor program was offered. 

3. Why eMajor?
I needed the eMajor program because I work full-time, and it is impossible to take more than 6 hours per semester face-to-face.  It was taking me forever to finish and it was going to take me at least another 2 years to finish.  I am so thankful that DSC is a part of the eMajor program because now I will graduate summer after only being in this program for less than a year!

4. Who is the biggest inspiration for your education?
The biggest inspiration for my education is me. I know how that sounds but hear me out.  I have had crappy jobs most of my life.  When I graduated high school I went to the carpet factory. (We are in Dalton you know!) After 1 year of hard labor I decided I could do something better for myself.  I went back to Dalton State College to get my Associate's degree so I could get a better job.  I got my Associates degree in 2 years and shortly after I obtained a decent paying job.  Finally, I had something I could be proud of and since then I have excelled with my degree.  I wanted to go back to get my Bachelors degree so I could advance in my career and go even further and make even more money.  I pride myself in having a very good work ethic and I work extremely hard.  I know I can achieve anything because I have been there and done that and have seen the fruits of my labor.
5. What is something cool you've learned this semester in your eMajor class?

Something cool that I have learned is that I find it more interesting and I feel like I learn more because I have the material at my hands at all times.  Some of the discussions we have really feel like you are in the class and are getting to know the other students.  I have learned a lot about myself as a learner.

6. What three words would you use to describe one of your online instructors?

These are more like 3 statements vs. 3 words:
1. Very smart
2. Easy to communicate with
3. Involved

7. Where is your favorite place to visit in the USA?
My favorite place to visit is anywhere that has a beach and for adventure I have started hiking the Appalachian Trail. I love to hike and my friends and I will take week long hikingtrips and love being outside.  We started the AT this year and have completed to first 21 miles and will do another 20 mile section later this year. 

8. What kind of mood are you in right now, and why?
I’m in a great mood because I know my life is heading in a very positive direction and I can't wait to finish my degree to get my reward for all of those years of hard work.

9. Your favorite study spot?
My favorite study spot is my couch.  Believe it or not, I like to have the TV on and have it on mute while I study.

10. What is something your online classmates don't know about you?
I guess they do not know how funny I can be.  I have a lot of stupid-funny jokes that I tell so I think I'm pretty entertaining. 

11. What are your career plans beyond eMajor?

My career plans after eMajor is to further my career here at EPB.  This company is so amazing, and we have a culture here that only Google would know about.  EPB cares so much about its employees and always tries to make everyone comfortable.  There is always continuous opportunity and they make you feel important and always make you feel proud to be a part of this great company.  My goal would be to get into leadership either in power or fiber optics.  All I know is that I will get an opportunity to shine, and when I get it I will run with it!

12. Is there anything interesting you would like to share about yourself?
I'm just a regular guy trying to make it. I feel like nothing but good is ahead of me with my eventual graduation with a bachelor’s degree, potential advancement and a loving family.